Don't Strike Back: Retaliation Claims on the Rise

Forward to colleague 

Program ID: ED1113001O

Faculty

Jessica BlockJessica Block

Boston, MA

Robert SheaRobert Shea

Boston, MA

  • Start Date:

    May 02, 2013 1:00 PM (EDT)
  • End Date:

    May 02, 2013 2:30 PM
  • Duration:

    1.5 hours
Registration Closed
Format:

Webinar

Registration Status: CLOSED

Registration for this program closes on April 30, 2013 5:00 PM

Registration Fee
Price (USD)
General $85.00

Refund Policy:Cancellation must be received by AAA University 48 business hours prior to the start time of the program to qualify for a refund.

 

Retaliation claims – a separate discrimination claim under both federal and state law – are occurring more often than ever before. They are one of the fastest rising causes for actions brought by an employee against an employer. The successful navigation of a retaliation claim requires specific knowledge that is not readily available.

To this end, this webinar will explore:

·     The nuances of retaliation claims.

·     What differentiates retaliation claims from typical discrimination claims.

·     How fact-finders – including judges, juries and arbitrators – view retaliation in the workplace.

At the conclusion of this program, attendees will understand the elements of a retaliation claim, the need for a well-drafted and firmly enforced non-retaliation policy and the standards of proof required for prosecuting and defending these claims.


Full participation in this program will satisfy annual Arbitrator Continuing Education (ACE) requirements for AAA Arbitrators. 

CLE Information:

CLE has been approved in the following states: Arkansas (1.25), Georgia (1.3), Mississippi (1.3), Missouri (1.6), Nevada (1.0), North Carolina (1.25), Tennessee (1.33), Texas (1.25), and Wisconsin (1.5). Application for CLE is currently pending in Indiana. This course has been approved by New York State for a total of 1.5 hour of non-transitional Skills CLE credit (NY State scholarship will be available upon request). Additionally, CLE credit is presumptively approved in the following states where AAA is an Approved or Accredited Provider: Alaska (1.25), California (1.25), Vermont (1.25), and West Virginia (1.6). The State Bar of Arizona does not approve or accredit CLE activities for the Mandatory Continuing Legal Education requirement. This activity may qualify for up to 1.25 hours toward your annual CLE requirement for the State Bar of Arizona. The AAA will not be offering CLE in any other jurisdiction but can provide a Uniform Certificate of Attendance for individuals to apply for their own state CLE.

Questions? Please contact AAA Education Services at or 212-716-3977.